Kraft Series 71 refit using Frsky and Arduino

Sometimes its good to try something new! My Godson had been given an Arduino kit for his birthday, and he was starting to ask questions I couldnt answer - although I'm a lifetime embedded systems developer I'd never touched an Arduino - so I thought I'd better learn something about them.

Coincidentally Paul Luby had posted about his Futaba M6 refit and another retro conversion seemed a good place to dive right in at the deep end.

When I was a kid the Krafts were very desirable sets but way beyond our budget, so its great to be able to fly one years later and with a few convenient bells & whistles on top.

img_4258.jpg

This has been a fun project in that the rewards come very easily, the Arduino is simplicity itself and most of the hard work has been done for you by the designers, leaving the user with just a basic scripting job.

Let me admit up front that my Arduino code is very simplistic, there are many far more complex and very clever encoder projects out there in interweb land, including the Microstar, 9x, ArduinoRC, Patolin and more, but this one suffices for a retro conversion where there is no lcd screen or fancy programming interface, and its probably easier to make than any of the posh ones. I enjoyed doing it.
You can even make one without soldering, using one of these.

adapter.jpg

With the back off (screws long-lost...) you can see the Arduino, a 2S lipo and the Frsky DHT module.
I removed the LED from the bind board and fitted a new extended one behind the Kraft meter, and I removed the bind button and extended the connections to what was the Kraft trainer button.