Mascot & Yamamoto trainer builds

Paul Marsh

A while back I bought two trainers, another original Mascot I've still got in flying condition, but is looking tired.

So over winter will be putting these two together. Using OS 40 FP engine on the Mascot and a OS 35 FP engine on the Yamamoto - the same engines that were on my models. The original OS 40FP which is in the old Mascot is still going, after 25 years plus...

mascot&yamamoto.jpg

Edited By Paul Marsh on 15/11/2015 10:57:11

Posted by Percy Verance on 15/11/2015 11:14:22:

KingKade

Chart and DB models are one and the same. I'm not quite sure of the timeline, but at some point over the past 30 years all the rights to DB models were owned by Chart, which itself was a part of Micro Mold. Or was it the other way round?

Still, the whole DB range is now in very capable hands, so spares shouldn't be a problem. The Mascot is a very good trainer by the way. Not so sure about the MFI sorry MFA Yamamoto, as I've no direct experience of it.

Excellant, didnt know that!

I think i owned both, i still have the fus carcass and wing of one in the shed. Will have to investigate to see which it is...

Thanks PV!!

I think I bought them off ebay, remember I paid £55 for the Yamamoto with a SC 40 engine still brand new in box.

The Yamamoto is the more comprehensive kit, I remember when I bought it, as had no rc spares, even an engine and radio I didn't buy yet (bought both off a friend in installments), so having the bit helped:

Fuselage sides of the Yammy being built (I know - made sure there is a Left and Right...!)

dscf9819.jpg

Fin Assy'

dscf9820.jpg

Included rubber bands - 20 plus years old. Don't think I will be using them - will give them to Chris, later...devil

dscf9821.jpg

You even got glue, although gone off a little...

dscf9822.jpg

And full hardware pack.

dscf9823.jpg

Want to really use the items, but did you know that the tank header bolts onto the firewall, so it can't rotate. Will show later,..