Seagull Hurricane

Steveflys

Add the weight. Its a warbird and they always need it.

I assume its the 80 inch job? if so with the engine you have it will fly fine up to about 18lbs so just have at it with the beef. go easy on the elevator rates as well.

While I have no direct experience with that model I have plenty of similar ones and its always the same story. And for what its worth, the full size Hurricane has hunks of lead strapped to the engine mount so its perfectly scale!

oh yea I know Richard well, I'm sure he will sort it out....and then chastise you for not fitting a 4 stroke

I'm sure it will fly well, I would be interested to see it actually as I have been asked about it by customers and its always good to keep up with new stuff

• 1 month later...

Hi Neil,

No I haven't maidened yet. Have added a church roof to get the balance point right. I felt that the measurement given for the c of g 140mm was a bit far back, I've gone for 120mm, I'd rather be a bit nose heavy for the first flight.

I've just got to set up the engine which won't take long. I've got several DLE35's and they all run virtually out of the box!

I don't envisage any problems with the retracts as I spent ages setting them up (famous last words) but we'll see. I'll add a post when it's flown, probably in the next few weeks. Hopefully you'll do the same.

Steve

This is only my opinion Steve, to support your massive investment in time and effort too, in your build.

I suspect the suggested 140 mm C of G is right smack bang on the middle of the ally tube wing joiner, and in my view 120 mm is just too far forward,

And that 130 mm would be a better compromise, if you have to compromise away from 140mm

The whole weight of the model, will be pivoted further away from the wing support, if that makes sense

This is my viewpoint from similar warbirds flown, and non scientific

Edited By Denis Watkins on 16/03/2017 16:38:39