An Amusing Incident at a French Flying Field.

The Chief Flying Instructor at my club is a man called Roger Aubard who has competed in the French National Championships with both aerobatic aircraft and gliders. He once finished tenth in the glider championship. Like 85% of French r/c pilots he flies Mode 1. He uses Futaba equipment exclusively and our club trainer is also guided by a Futaba radio.

There is a high proportion of novice pilots in our club and to take the strain off  Roger, once beginners have reached a degree of competence, I offer flight experience on either an ARTF i/c trainer or a "We Can Fly" foamie electric trainer.

primary 40 (2).jpg

we can fly.jpg

I use Spektrum equipment and I'm a Mode 2 pilot but I have the use of a Spektrum DX5e Mode 1 transmitter so that I can teach Mode 1 trainees. Between the two of us we are teaching a fifty-something Frenchman called Eric Ceyrat who has his own We Can Fly and a Spektrum radio.

Last Sunday was quite breezy, Eric had brought his model with him and had had a flight with Roger on club's i/c trainer and buddy box. He then had two flights with me on my We Can Fly. He is still very unsteady but he has reached the stage where I usually only have to take back control once or twice in a five minute training flight. He has not learned to take off or land yet.

He expressed an interest flying his model which he had already assembled. For me to fly it with him would have meant me binding my transmitter to his receiver so he asked Roger fly with him, old style, with only one transmitter between them. Roger took off and handed him the transmitter. Eric managed quite well most of the time then the model would suddenly plummet towards the ground requiring Roger to regain control and hand the transmitter back to Eric. This happened twice. I heard Eric say, "Il y a du vent!" ("Its windy." )