Phoenix 2000 V2

EarlyBird

I recently purchased one from HK and the battery size suggested was 1500-1800 3S. Reading the reviews one person said it flew well on a 2200 3S so having a stock of these I went with that. When I tried with the 2200 as far back as possible it was slightly nose heavy based on the CG marked on the wing. I thought I could live with slightly nose heavy. When I test flew it was obviously way too nose heavy for thermal soaring. I pushed the battery as far back as possible so that it was touching the wheel arch and added 10g of lead on the tail. The CG was some 5 mm further back. The contrast was amazing it will now catch rising air and thermal, all by accident as I am only a novice with gliders. I'm a novice full stop.

I feel I could move the CG further back as the elevator was not over sensitive.

I assume the reviewer with the 2200 3S was either slope soaring or spreading misinformation. I don't believe that the HK reviews are monitored at all and therefore can't be trusted.

I would be interested in anyone else's setup for thermal soaring with this model.

Thanks in advance.

Cheers beer

Steve

Hi EarlyBird

Interesting results,.

I have a 2000V2 on the bench at the moment, which I intend for thermal soaring, so any extra info you can provide would be helpful.
Did a test balance with mine and found that, with the 2200 3s at the rear of the cockpit, but still able to engage the rear two battery straps, that I needed some 14g in the tail to balance at the marked point, so broadly in line with yours.
From what I read most of the Volantex models use a very conservative c/g position, probably for safety in the hands of a novice.
Some also suggest removing the wheel altogether to get the battery even further back, but I quite like the wheel as is, and would prefer to add tail weight.
So, with yours in thermal set up, where is the c/g in relation to the marked position?