Got away with it!

I've had an interesting time with the Double Size Tomboy over the last few days. It has been fine in the air but it has squirreled all over the place on take off, so much so that on Sunday it looked as if it was going to clout a group of pilots in the pits so I deliberately put it in, damaging the undercarriage mountings in the process and losing a couple of cross members from the wing mounting. Part of the reason for the problem is that the undercarriage is just one piece of 6mm wire so it flexes easily and the wheels are also very loose on the spindles. I tried to remove the wheels but the grub screws have seized in the collets, but I did manage to solder a brace to stiffen up the undercarriage and I replaced the cross members with larger section balsa.

completed job (1).jpg

I took it to the flying field yesterday afternoon. I am a club level instructor and have just acquired a new pupil, a 71 year-old Belgian called Franz to add to my 60 year-old Englishman Andy, and my 50 something Frenchman Eric. We are getting very international at our club! Franz is making all the usual beginners' mistakes with an electric four channel foamy trainer but I have long held the view that elderly beginners are better off with a vintage model because they are based on free flight technology and are much more stable than any modern ARTF trainers. After a couple of flights with the foamy trainer I offered Franz a go on the buddy box with the Tomboy.