Dynam Spitfire

Daren Cogdon

I bought this Dynam Spitfire from an older lady who was selling up her stuff.  After a bit of faffing, I managed to get the Spit's motor running for the first time earlier.

https://youtu.be/d7X_UXes3Zc

The undercarriage need work, as they won't retract fully into the wings (I think a hard landing was responsible), but I will look at that later.  If not, then I might just remove them and fly without! 

Edited by Daren Cogdon

• 4 weeks later...

And she flew! 

As per the vid, she needed some nose weight to get her flying straight and level, so we added a bit of lead in the battery compartment.  Still a bit tail-heavy, but flying even better.

I did end up removing the landing gear, as I had read that the gear legs are quite soft and will bend with a harder landing (which I'm an expert at!) and will probably end up needing sorting every now and again.  This is fine, as an underarm hand-launch works great with it and is far less stressful! 

What makes you think it was tail heavy at the outset? It looks like it was flying fine from the video... Was it tucking in a dive? Did you try a power off dive test and/or experiment with just reducing the elevator travel?

spacer.png