Fuel for Cox .049

gowen

This is my first time posting here, so apologies if I'm treading old ground.  I did a search and the only thread that comes close is "Techpower 5 v Optimax".

Since restarting the hobby, I have only flown electric.  I recently came into possession of a Cox .049 Queen Bee and I though I'd put it in a vintage style airframe. 

Researching the fuel requirements for this engine, It seems I need 20% to 30% nitro, and 20% lubricant of which, at least 10% must be castor (https://www.mh-aerotools.de/airfoils/documents/cox_049_operation_and_troubleshooting_guide.pdf)

Model Technics GN-25 or GX-25 would have been ideal, but is no longer available and I can't find direct alternative.  I contacted Den's model supplies, as a seller of Cox engines and he recommended buying Big Bang 25% and adding 10% castor oil.  The problem is that Model Technics Castorlube is out of stock everywhere is all can sizes.

So the question (finally), Does anyone:

1. Know where I can buy some castorlube.

2. Suggest and alternative brand of castor oil.

3. Suggest an alternative fuel that is available.

Gowen, welcome.

My opinion, caster oil smells nice, will clear yer pipes right quick if you haven’t been eating enough fiber, and makes a nice tahini. But it’s ancient technology, and has been replaced by modern synthetic oils, and has no place in a fuel. 
I would use a 20 to 30 % nitro methane fuel, and whatever synthetic oil it comes with, but to be cautious, I think I would want 15% plus in there.

The Big Bang is good to go as it is.

The fuel of choice for Cox engines back in the day was Nitrex 15. They seemed quite happy on this mixture, I'm not sure about the lubricant, it had 15% nitro which seemed enough. Fuel with 30% nitro needs an explosives licence in the UK and they are thinking of lowering it to 16%. I met a guy in the states who was using 45% nitro in his but this was excessive and unnecessary.

• Like 1