2.4 GHz and trees.

I have read somewhere in the Forum about loss of control using 2.4 gHz and flying near trees was mentioned. Also I have witnessed, at the local club site, two crashes on the same day whilst flying near trees. The pilots reported loss of control and both were using 2.4 gHz.  This started me thinking --  I have many years of experience using marine radars and the S-band radar works at a frequency of 3 gHz. Vegetation and in particular wet vegetation reflects radar energy. Could it be possible that trees in full leaf and especially when wet will reflect and scatter transmissions on 2.4 gHz ?  If this is the case could such scattering of the signal be sufficient to cause weakening of the received signal and subsequent loss of control ?
        Perhaps someone with technical knowledge will be able to judge if 2.4 gHz signals from our TXs are capable of bouncing around like radar energy. It will also be interesting to hear from anyone who has experienced glitches or loss of control using 2.4 gHz when flying near trees and whether the trees were in leaf and/or were wet.
Having said all that, I attended the Weston Park show in June on the Saturday and I saw only one crash near the trees and that appeared to be the dreaded depth perception issue, not loss of radio signal.   

Losing control near trees is quite common whatever the radio system .

Actually I think I undertsand what you are getting at and since you asked here's an entry from my flying log. (Which incidently is an MS Access database inspired by some log sheets that were printed in RCM&E a few years ago):