slow fly

hi, I'm a new member plus I am not very experienced with the use of
computers and e- mail etc.
however I feel that this web site is something I want to be able to cope with. Not being a club member I have need this more than most.
Just to put you in the picture.
My first experience of model flying was a Keil Craft Ajax Wakefield
my dad built for me in 1947 he was a clever chap so it flew very well.
From then on I got the bug for life. On and off but always returned to it
In between times always keeping in touch through model magazines.

I do like to design and build my own models but my last attempt
just did do what i hoped for, and that is have slow fly ability.
This model had a 15% clark Y airfoil built up construction and as light as possible it flew very well but still quite fast.

So my question is what gives a model slow fly ability?
I apologise if I have not done this correctly and its not going to right place etc.But I have to make a start. Cheers Ian.

Advert

Hi Ian and welcome.
I am NOT an aerodynamics ( probably cant even spell it let alone "do" it !! ) expert but would suggest that you are not far off with your assumptions. There is a saying in modelling "add lightness" - and although true in most cases ( perhaps except when ballasting a fast glider for heavier winds ) never more so in striving for slow flight. Anything which adds weight will inevitably tend to increase the mass and therefore "sinkability" - which of course will increase the airspeed.
Nice big wing, airframe light, big slow turning prop on powered models, and small smooth control inputs, remembering also of course ( as so many pilots seem to forget ) on a powered model the throttle is a flight control too.
Good luck with your venture, and come over to the Orme some time and chuck yer glider off a very big hill !

hi, thanks to dave ashby and timbo. Its so good to actually get a responce to my enquiry.Idid not think I would