HELP for beginner - Futaba 2.4 and Pulso dl 60 amp

Marksw

Hi, I am completely new to model flying and building so my selection of plane and equipment was difficult. After many visits to the model shop and four months worth of buying RCM/E I purchased a Thunger Tiger Trainer OBL electric. After reading all the hype regarding controllers I bought the Futaba 2.4Ghz. I am now quite close to finishing the build (some would have completed the build in a night but it has taken me some weeks!) but I now have a dilema that I dont want to second guess. I bought a Pulso dl 60 amp ESC which the model shop me to connect to the 3rd port on the TX/RX, however when I do this it powers up the TX/RX even with the power switch set to off. I haven't charged the Lipo battery yet but it was connected but regardless of the throttle setting the motor did not spin. Could someone please tell me what could be wrong and why the TX/RX is powering up, maybe even tell me what i have done wrong. Any help is appreciated. Mark

Advert

Hi Mark...firstly your terminology for "controller" is wrong, the speed controller (ESC) is what is normally termed the controller and I think you meant the TRANSMITTER.

The Electronic Speed Controller ( ESC )  should be plugged into the throttle channel of the RECEIVER. Check your Futaba handbook for which channel number this is on your particular receiver.

The ESC will NOT operate the motor if you do not set it up correctly, and have the LiPo battery correctly charged, - the throttle stick on the tr also normally has to be in a certain position before you switch on.

I suggest you read the instructions carefully and completely for the radio set, and also the ESC, as they will NOT work correctly if you have not followed ALL the instructions in the correct sequence. 

irrespective of ANY "port" that you plug your ESC into on the receiver it can NEVER power up the transmitter as your terminiolgy suggests !!