Heli tail rotor drives

David E

I'm quite new to all this, and looking around at various helis, I see that some have belt driven tail rotors, some are shaft driven, and some have a motor on the end of the boom. What are the pros and cons of each type? (Hoping this won't start a war between different camps or anything!)

Advert

Hi David

I have had both tail motors and belt driven tail rotors, and both are prone to there difrent problems, motors burn out fairly easy, and belts need to be ajusted fairly often, but are quite reliable, but a lot of heli flyers say shaft is best as there is less to go rong, but there is more power loss with gears, and more noise comes from gears, so its down to what suits you at the end of the day.

the choice is yours Owen.

Motor driven tails are only found on small electric heli's. They are used normally because there is no room for a belt or shaft and, in the days of brushed motors, the main drive wasn't strong enough. The downside was you needed a mixer to drive both motors or alternatively two ESC's. A typical example would be the 4 in 1 module on the Hummingbird FP.

Belt drives tend to be cheaper to replace and have a higher survivability in the event of a crash. If you put a model in and bent the boom, there was a good chance the belt would be ok. Obviously a shaft drive would have to bend with the boom. Many helis up to 30/50 size utilise belt  drives, whereas 60 size  models and upwards would be shaft drive. This is probably down to the power output of 60/90 motors. However, there are a few 60/90 models around with belts as there are 400 size electrics with shafts. The main disadvantage with a belt is that it stetches requiring monitoring and tensioning.