Advice on receiver and battery

Matt D

Hi everyone,

well, I'm completely new to the hobby and have been down to a local club a couple of times so far and think I may be hooked! Anyway, because I'm (very) impatient I've gone off and bought a Spektrum DX7 from Ebay. I'm hoping that this isn't something I'm going to regret later, but from reading the forums a lot of people suggest getting a good transmitter from the start, and to be honest the difference between the DX6i / 6EXP wasn't that much so decided to futureproof myself.

The transmitter has a AR6100 (v1.2) with it, but to be honest I'm unsure if this is going to be suitable for the type of plane I'm looking at, which is likely to be a 40 trainer from someone at the club (hopefully I'll be able to look at it this weekend ).

Since most people at the club are on 35MHz I thought I'd ask on here what people think? Should I get myself a AR6200 instead and leave the 6100 for if I get a small electric later on? Or are there any compatible receivers that I may be better off looking at instead?

Finally, what rx battery would people suggest?

Sorry for all the questions on my first post, but as you can probably guess I'm an impatient devil

Edited By Biggles' Elder Brother - Moderator on 16/02/2011 23:29:59

Advert

I'm a dedicated Futaba user, but there is no real reason to regret buying a DX7. Certainly if there is you will have plenty of others with you- it's a very popular transmitter.

Regarding the receiver the 6100 is classed as a park flier, so I would certainly go for the full range 6200.

One word of caution- I would be wary about buying off ebay at the moment-. No reputable model shop- and there are plenty- would have sold you the 6100 for the trainer. Again though- don't worry about it- I think this is a lesson every one of us has learned through experience! You seem to have got off lightly (unless you paid £500 for the tranny!)