Skystreak 32 beginner's build from plans

Hi all,

having proposed old control liners as R/C models, I was kindly sent a plan for the slightly enlarged version of the lovely old KK Skystreak 26 and had to start building.

I am a beginner to flying model aircraft, but an old hand at modelmaking, in fact I've earned my living at it for years, so I have a fair bit of good gear. The bandsaw and disc sander are, however, fairly recent additions, but my, how they speed things up.

The promised plans arrived today and after lunch I made a start, marking out the formers onto 1/8" ply by pricking through a photo-copy of that section of the plans. Because this is to be an electric model, I have redesigned the nose accordingly, bringing F2 forward to form a mounting surface for the little brushless motor's radial mount. The shape of F2 has been interpolated from the plan at that position and so may need some modification with a mini disc cutter once assembled.

Here they all are, marked out on a sheet of ply. Plans on top of my two ancient Super 60 fuselages that an old friend gave me to resurrect.

Here, being ripped out on the bandsaw. I bought this machine for £12 from the Sunday Market in Wisbech, always a great source of old tools.

Here the formers are all cut out and have been trued down to line on the disc sander, using the very inner part of the disc, which cuts much more finely and lightly than the vicious outer edge.

The wing ribs are also cut from photo-copy and about to be glued with spray tack onto the balsa sheet.

Holes for lightness and controls will be cut inside the formers, once I've worked out where everything goes.

Here's the 2 old Super 60s. The front one had broken in half so has been a job of scarphing the ply doublers and replacing scarphed in 1/4" square. The cabin framing is now being replaced in spruce. This will have an Enya 35 in it.