Futaba wing servo choice for a glider

David Ramsden

Hi there. I've never used servos in wings before and would like a recommendation please.
I've heard of people replacing nylon geared wing servos with metal geared ones. How important are metal gears? The model is a 54" span balsa aerobatic slope soarer and each servo would be connected to a 2x22" aileron.
I'm looking at a choice between S3115 (nylon gears, £18 each) and S3155 (metal gears £36 each or S3150 at £40). There's also the tiny S3114 (nylon gears £16) would they be okay?.

Thanks!
David

Edited By David Ramsden on 19/10/2020 21:31:46

Advert

Good to see you ditching that sliding servo tray at last...wink 2teeth 2

You need to tell us the max thickness of the wing; that is the starting point for selecting wing servos. Also why limit yourself to Futaba? Lots of good (IMO better) options out there from the likes of Hitec, KST, MKS etc. When I used 3150s on a slope plank they seemed to develop gear play rather quickly, even for an MG servo.

Personally on something like that a simple analogue micro (assuming it will fit and the model isn't a DS mouldie!) would do the job - the Karbonite geared HS65HB from Hitec are affordable, reliable and should have plenty of torque for that application. Yes the gears are slightly more vulnerable to being stripped, but they take longer to wear than a low cost MG and are easily and cheaply replaced. I also like the cheap as chips Towerpro MG16R - not the most accurate out there (they do overshoot a tad) but great torque, digital and very robust for slope use.

If you are prepared to spend more then the KSTs would be my choice - lots of options at Hyperflight including the excellent DS135MG on special, but the torque specs are probably a bit OTT for your application.

Edited By MattyB on 19/10/2020 21:58:48

Thanks MattyB.