Aileron Flutter

Paul Harlow

Hello,

A while ago, I started learning to fly with a "Bobcat II 40" trainer and discovered that taking off and flying about were pretty easy - landing, though, wasn't...

After ripping the undercarriage off my trainer and pretty much ripping out the whole bottom of the fuselage in one, glorious high speed ground encounter, I decided that trainers just weren't built for my style of "landing"...so I designed and built my own trainer with enthusiastically belting into the ground in mind :)

I have a problem with my ailerons, though - I built the wings up to use a single, central servo and torque rods, a la stock trainer, but this has left the ailerons really pretty sloppy and they flutter about like anything with the engine running :( Is there an easy way I can improve their rigidity without having to ditch the centre servo and put servos in the wings?

I haven't actually tried flying this thing yet, but I'd like to give it the best chance possible of getting back down in one piece...

Thanks,

Paul

Advert

Paul, if the problem is that the rods are loose in the ailerons, I have done the following with success, locate where the forward facing part of the rod is in the aileron, with a pin or similar. Using a small abrasive tool with a flat end, say 6-8mm dia, grind down halfway through the wood until the rod can be seen, fill the hole with 5 minute epoxy,making sure that it soaks around the rod. Cover the resulting scar with film (not essential.)

Hi Richard,

thanks for that - I should have explained the problem a bit better, really - there's just loads of play in all the pivot joints. There's play at the servo clevis' and play at the torque-rod ends...plus, I think the hinges I've used (metal pin hinged type) aren't holding the ailerons tightly enough to the wing...