help

HELLO ALL IM NEW TO RC AND WAS LOOKING SOME HELP.

I BOUGHT A FUNJET AND RAN IT ON THE RECOMMENDED POWER SET UP WITH A 11.1V 2100 MAH 25 C LIPO.I HAD 3 FANTASTIC FLIGHTS BUT THEY ONLY LASTED 3-4 MINUTES UNTIL THE LIPO LOST ALOT OF POWER.ON THE 4TH FLIGHT IT FLEW GREAT AS USUAL BUT AFTER ABOUT 3 MINS OF FLIGHT TIME IT LOST ALL POWER NOTHING WOULD WORK AT ALL,OF COURSE AT THIS POINT I WAS IN A VERY FAST DIVE!!(YOU CAN GUESS THE REST)IT WAS LIKE AN EXPLODED BEAN BAG AS IT HIT THE DECK.SOMEONE TOLD ME WHO KNOWS A BIT ABOUT RC THAT I SHOULD NOT FLY IT FLAT OUT FOR LONG PERIODS OF TIME,I HAVE TO ADMIT THAT WHEN I FLEW IT ,IT WOULD BE FULL POWER 90% OF THE TIME,HE SAID THAT I HAD OVER WORKED THE BATTERY AND IT HAD JUST CUT POWER.IS HE RIGHT?? ALL THE ELECTRICS STILL WORK AND I HAVE ORDERED A NEW FUNJET BUT COULD NOT BARE TO SEE IT KAMIKAZE AGAIN.THANKS FOR YOUR TIME.

Advert

What motor and ESC were you using Stuart? Sounds like an loss of signal if nothing worked rather than a loss of just battery power. We had the same problem documented with our review model - we put it down to the receiver being too close to the motor/ESC. We put the receiver up at the nose and the problem seemed to cure itself.

Without a wattmeter to check the current consumption on that setup it is not really possible to say with accuracy.The actual motor recommended for this setup is the 2825-2700, NOT a 2700 -2828, which incidentally I could find no reference to anywhere!

As for not flying it flat out all the time, that all depends on the points above. If you pulling too much current due to a bigger prop, then the ESC may well be seeing a severe drop in voltage from the battery and triggering the LVC, which will cause the motor to stop.

You do not state which propellor you are using, and THIS is  the single most important thing when using brushless motors and Lipos. 

• 2 weeks later...