a beginners P51

Steve B

So then here i am... hello all and please please please chip in with views, opinions, advice etc etc. as it states in the title i'm a beginner at this building lark...needed a garage project an bought the top flight 1/7th Mustang !!

I 'think' its going ok so far.... taking my time an doing the research when i can. will post the photo's i have up to press going the whole hog with retracts front and back... done away with the aileron bell crank and doing the flaps too.

wing fairings took some figureing out but i think i've sussed it and they look ok to me face 1 been reading the other p51 threads and hope mine comes out half as good...will need someone to fly her then cos i've never tried ha ha ...just enjoying the build.... Anyway here's some pics:

fin & rudder 2.jpg

photo 0142.jpg

photo 0173.jpg

photo 0177.jpg

photo 0180.jpg

photo 0183.jpg

photo 0184.jpg

photo 0199.jpg

photo 0205.jpg

photo 0221.jpg

photo 0224.jpg

photo 0229.jpg

Would love to put a RCV unit in but will prob be petrol 15/20 cc (cost

Thats it for now.

Advert

Hi steve, Ive just noticed your thread, I`m building the same model too, also with the rear robart retract. Where you`ve placed it on the former is a bit too high, if you look at your 6th picture, the top arm of the retract mechanism (where you connect a push rod etc to), is in the space where the elevator pushrod fits, as the elevator push rod is a solid metal rod you want to try and keep it as straight as possible, or it will bind along the outer grey tube. Ive closed the back end of mine up now or I`d take a picture to show.

Also in your 7th pic with it mounted, i put some lengths of triangle in the corners and a couple of ply rectangles width wise on the back of the former for a bit of re-inforcing, the former on its own wouldnt be strong enough to cope with the force of the retract mechanism operating and on the ground.