Engine size? Electric? for Westerley Trainer

Keanonwuk

Hi to all, I am a complete newby to R/C and this site. I have wanted to come back to modelling for many years, now retired, here I am. As you would expect I have done most things back to front. However, I have purchased a very old Svenson Westerley kit for my trainer which requires a 2.5 to 6cc engine. Two questions:

1) I purchased a second hand Mk11 Irvine 40 (6.5cc) engine, could I get away with this? Or look elswhere, if so what recommendations?

2) Could I replace the IC option with an electric motor, now I don't have a clue here, is there a table somewhere that lists the electric option of an IC engine?

Sorry if these are silly questions.

Cheers

Advert

Welcome to the forum Keanonwuk....thumbs up

No such thing as a silly question so ask away....I am a bit confused though......you say you are a complete newby but wanted to come back to modelling....surely you can't be both??

To answer your specific questions I'm not familiar with the model so can only comment generally but if it suggested a 2.5 to 6cc motor then you might find the Irvine a tad powerful.....modern motors are a lot more powerful than the older crossflow units. That said you will have a throttle so you can always reduce the power. Weight might be an issue....a modern ball raced 40 will weigh a lot more than a 2.5cc diesel of yesteryear!!!

Yes...pretty much anything can be electrified & will fly well......Electrickery is very different to IC in terms of "what is required" however...the best method is to forget IC exists & start from scratch. Might I suggest you take a quick look in the electric flight section of the forum...some great tutorials there that will familiarise you with the concepts & terminology......then we can get stuck into the questeions!!!