Thickness Sander

Stevo

I'm looking to design a thickness sander for balsa and other associated modelling timbers. I'm not looking to do wide strips of balsa, I'll buy them like that!

Perhaps doing something like thinning a 6x6 strip to 6x4 or other internediate sizes.

I have an oscillating sprindle sander that I can base it around.

Anyone designed or made one? I had some designs from KC on here which have helped, but I want to take it to the next level up.

Ta

Steve

As a woodworker, I think you're going to find issues with attaining the correct feed speed and the required pressure on the timber, i.e. how to raise or lower the drum. Ideally you'd need a powered feed system feeding the wood either over or under the sanding drum/belt. If this feed stops or slows down then it will damage the wood.

I don't envisage that an oscillating spindle sander would work with this idea with a speed feeder, as the original idea with an oscillating sander has the timber held flat on the table, and you use hand pressure to push the piece against the drum. Unless, you use some kind of non-slip feed belt that has more resistance than the abrasive, I believe that the oscillating drum will just damage the piece. All table sanders use a rotating belt and the spindles do not oscillate, and the table is adjustable for pressure.

I don't doubt that it is doable, but I think the work behind it far exceeds the cost of a small planer/thicknesser sold by Axminster or even Screwfix. I believe Proxxon do a small thicknesser for modellers.

I'd like to see the design you speak of, it would be interesting. I use a large stand alone planer/thicknesser bought from Axminster, and I really cannot rate it's worth enough.

I don't mean to knock the idea, but IMO it'll be less of a headache buying a small thicknesser.