Balsacraft Spirfire instructions required

Colour Sgt

I am new to this hobby as such I have just been given a Balsacraft Mkix spitfire kit that is already laser cut so should be fairly easy . However there is no instruction manual so I am stuck with a kit that looks doomed for file 13 . So it is a rather a ignominious start to the hobby.Unless anyone can lend me a copy…………

Welcome to the Forum and the hobby.

Looks like you are sorted with the instructions thanks to Simon.  The Balsacraft Spitfire is a marvellous model and flies beautifully - the kits were years ahead of their time and flew well even with the old tech brushed motors and NiCd batteries, if care was taken with motor and prop selection. With modern lipos and brushless motors they are even better, but do benefit from modification in battery access.

However, if you are new to the hobby the Balsacraft Spitfire is completely unsuitable as a first model. It's small, fast, with a low wing and very aerobatic. Probably a third or fourth model down the line. If you check out the beginner's section there are a couple of other new starters who are taking their first steps in the hobby and lots of good tips to be picked up.

Best of luck 🙂

• Like 1

Yes - I certainly agree with leccyflyer's assessment of the Balsacraft Spitfire.  It's an excellent model and it looks very convincing in the air, but it's certainly not suitable for a beginner. 

Also, if you're a newcomer to building, it would be worth gaining some experience by building one or two simpler kits first.  You'll want to make the best possible job of your Spitfire - there can't be many of these Model Designs kits left now.

If you're not already a member of a model flying club, I'd strongly recommend joining one as soon as you can - that way you'll have plenty of advice and help readily on hand.