Balsa wing spars.

Gazzalene

Being a newbie i hope this is not a really stupid question.The kit i am building as balsa spars top and bottom.The wing is flat bottomed so that easy.But i do not know the norm form the upper spars.The area where the notch is, to the eye looks flat ain the curve at that point.Do i make the spar flush at the top OR leave proud then sand.If left flat i have no idea how this looks at the covering stage.

Advert

The plan does show a cross sectin of the wing BUT the thing is the curve there is very slight.to the eye it looks flat but obviously a curve is there and i do not lnow if this still needs leaving proud and sanding.or will a flat spar show.this is where my lack of building hinders me.

I wouldn't have thought that the curve would be significant, say less that 2 or 3% of the wisth of the spar. If so, I would leave if flush as suggested. You will never notice it in the air. If it is meant to be curved then shape it a suggested, but I have never seen a curved spar on the surface a model yet.

Martyn

Gazzalene

Would I be correct in assuming the wing is an 'open' structure to be covered with a film or tissue?

If so when the covering is taught it will not follow the correct curve of the upper surface in the area between the wing ribs so whether the top of the spar is curved or flat is not really significant.

If the spar was particularly wide it would then have to take the curvature of the wing section into account.

Simon, you are correct that the wing is open structure,its a semi scale T Moth.

I do not understand your point though.i thought when covered the material will touch every surface of the wing,and the spar being flat was my concern.

Again sorry for my ignorance here.

Gazzalene

Yes the surface will touch all the structure but imagine the shape of the top surface of the covering midway between the ribs.