Galaxy Magician renovation - 400 flights later......

Simon Webb

Hi guys......

This is my first build thread in this brilliant forum, so please bear with me whilst I wear my arm-bands and learn the ropes so to speak/

I have decided that after 400 flights.....I am going to restore my beloved Galaxy Magician.

I really love this model and it has served me very well so far......so much so....I want to give her a new lease of life.

I am also giving her a brand new engine. It had an old Q40 in the nose up until now....which really pulled her along very nicely at full chat. I have now bought a brand new Irvine 40 Mark 4....see photos......

The eagle eyed amoungst you will notice a GRP cowl upgrade. I found this on ebay.....for £6 delivered!!!! a much needed upgrade as the ABS one is very weedy.

I also have another Wizard which is making progress.....

The Magician was originally spray painted over tissue and dope......so I am now busy removing this with a coarse grade of wet and dry paper. cheeky

I will then proceed to paint on filler (filler mixed with water) to get into the nooks and crannies......then put more strips of tissue and dope over the areas of weakness, before spray painting it again. I reckon she will weigh 4 pounds when finished, as she did when I first finished her.

My wings have individual wing servos fitted as a modification......but stress cracks appeared after 200 flights,.....so I will repair these with extra tissue and wood filler....... More photos to follow!!!! yes

Advert

OK I have put on ONE coat of sprayed cellulose (non-lead) paint using my car sprayer and compressor.

This paint is VERY thin.....so thin in fact you can see the residue of the blue paint underneath still in the daylight.

I am now in the process of flatting this paint down, then brushing on filler, then flatting the filler, then painting again. I repeat this process about 4 times. THEN......I paint and flat about 5 times.