Home grown oleos

David P Williams

As I've bored you with in the past, I'm building a SLEC/Apache RAF Chipmunk. It is one of the first kits SLEC produced after taking over the Apache Aviation range last year, so we've had a few headscratching moments along the way but Ian and Chris at SLEC have been great at resolving problems. I really should have done a build log, but this is my first build in a while and I was shy about revealing the likely cockups learning opportunities along the way.

Anyway, encouraged by Danny, and not wanting to clutter his Chip Shop thread any further, I thought I would give a bit of retrospective info about the oleos I've just made for this model. The kit includes standard 4swg wire undercarriage legs, and a suggestion to use Robart strut covers to replicate the Chipmunk's prominent scissor links, but I treated myself to a new Chinese lathe last year and was itching to make something on it, so I desided to try to make some working oleo legs. The model is also roughly 1/5 scale, so the Robart covers are too small. These pics of the full size show what I was trying to replicate:-

img_3134.jpg

chipmunk 026.jpg

Many of the ex-Portuguese Airforce Chipmunks that I was involved in restoring had these gaiters, but most were perished and removed.

I didn't really know how to rate or source suitable springs, so I purchased a pair of 60-120 size oleos from HobbyKing to copy and cannibalise them. Pressing these down on my scales gave about 7lb to compress halfway, so I though the springs might be OK for a 13-14lb model - we'll see.

So, having measured the HK oleo internals, and scaled the externals from photos, I fired up my CAD program and drew some plans:-

oleos1.jpg

oleos2.jpg