38" mossie in depron

As the title says I am going to attempt to build a 38" wingspan mosquito in depron using a TN design I think was published in RCME some 11 years ago.

This is my first build using foam so all is new to me. The fus looks a straight forward build, the plan however has the two wing sections built using single 9mm balsa sheets, which are then profiled and the ailerons cut out.

Now for depron I can get a 9mm sheet I think, at present I have 6mm and 3mm. So should I join the 6 & 3 or go get 9mm to form the wing. Then there is the question of strengthening it. Should I give it a balsa leading and trailing edge and channel in a balsa or Carbon support rod along the middle.

I have read a lot of the depron build blogs on here but I haven't found one yet that uses a single sheet rather than the normal rib and sheeting design.

Any pointers would be appreciated.

Edited By Darran on 28/06/2015 16:02:10

Advert

The original plan calls for mostly 3mm balsa with some ply formers engine mounts other than the wing sheet which is 9mm all balsa ply is 3mm.

Plan weight is 30oz.

Should be able to do this in depron it's just the wing construction I'm unsure about.

I don't have that plan, but I did find one from the 2011 RCM&E at 36.5" span, (expected 39oz, include retracts), I would assume the build is roughly the same.

My normal built up wing would have a balsa L.E, spar(s), including the one the ailerons are hung from.

Though I have not built a wing that small, I would probably go for 2 or 3mm base, balsa L.E., spars, and a 2 or 3mm top skin. Probably choose the 2mm, but would have to experiment. I would include ribs only where I thought necessary. The spars should hold a reasonable top curve.

For a sheet wing, a single 6mm flat sheet, or maybe a KFm type section for a little extra thickness, and some carbon rods as spars.