FRSky Receivers

Darran

Hi

I have two Taranis transmitters and both are at the new EU firmware. I have been using X8R Receivers in my models up to now which seems a bit of a waste as all of them only require 4 channels.

I now have a model that requires more than four channels and would like to use one of my existing X8R's in it, so what other receiver options are there for the Taranis that provide 4 channel for the donor model.

I am new to the Taranis game so do they do a 4 channel receiver, their site has a plethora of receivers but which ones are my options for the Taranis.

Advert

On the EU firmware without a DJT a in the module slot, you are limited to the X4R, X6R and X8R. None of the D series will work, nor the V series. However if you flash the firmware in your internal XJT module to the international variant you will gain compatibility with D and V series RXs; however you will then need to flash all your existing X8s to Int'l firmware too, and your TX may or may not be compliant with UK regs (people have views either way, but no-one can be 100% certain as the language in the ETSI a regs is somewhat wooly around the sold vs used question).

Fun Huh?!!

Ps - One alternative low cost option for cheaper models that don't need telemetry... Grab an OrangeRX DSM2/X module from Hobbyking and some LemonRX a or OrangeRX receivers. I would not put these in stiff I really care about, but I have had no issues with such a setup for my parkfliers.

Edited By MattyB on 20/08/2015 17:09:30

To expand on Matty's post, at it's simplest if you bought the transmitters in the UK since January, then you are on the EU compatible XJT module firmware (ie the bit that does the RF encoding). If this is the case you need to stick to X series receivers, X4R, X6R or X8R.

If you bought them from HK or from outside of Europe they will be on non-EU firmware, which means you can also use D-series receivers.