Going Batty

Chris North 3

I have ummed and arred about whether I should start a post on this forum but finally decided to have a go. This is my first attempt so apologies for any mistakes, mishaps and upsets.

Rather than try to provide a complete, in depth build blog my intent is to post some general ramblings about my experience building Lindsay Todd's "Batty" using the May 2016 RCM&E free plan.

By way of explanation - and setting some level of expectation! - I should perhaps confess up front that this is my first balsa build in over 30 years. Back when milk came in bottles and Christmas meant getting more presents than I gave, I received a free flight glider kit which gave hours of fun, not only building, but also towing around the local field trying to get it to fly in a lazy circle as promised on the box.

Pocket money being what it was, RC was way out of my reach and so modelling fell into the background although my interest in it never dropped off.

About a year ago I decided to get back into the hobby and so invested in a transmitter and simulator. A rather good investment as it turns out since the cost of subsequent crashes in the flesh would have put me back out of the hobby for sure!

My first toe back into the building pond was thanks to the guys at Flitetest since their videos and plans made building flyable planes seem easy. Obtaining foam board was a bit of problem here in Thailand however a couple of weeks elbow deep in depron and packing tape saw a spitfire flying over (and into!) the local patch.

Since then a HK Decathlon and T28 have joined the stable and my flying skills are gradually improving. While foam is fun the desire remained to get back to balsa building and hence here we are.

I decided to build the model from scratch not only to relearn the building skills but also because it was too expensive to get a CNC kit sent over from the UK.

So far I have made a start on the tail feathers and am about half way through the wing construction.