what sort performance would you expect?

Hello all,

I haven't been flying long and have started with I.C but i always intended to do electric flight as well. My question is quite simple i have my eye on a kit  not an ARTF as i always wanted to build as well i'm looking into the future here but like to be prapared i'm considering EDF using a wemotec mini fan 68mm unit in a model weighing 1200g it say's that it runson a 480 size motor 40amp esc and 3 cell lipo of around 3200 mah capacity. I have no experience in electric flight as  i said so your thoughts about likely performance using this set up would be appriciated as well as what you would suggest to use say if i wanted to give it that bit extra....... its mainly chosing the motor that i am struggling with..

Regards, Alex

Alex 

If its any consolation you're not the only one struggling .I used to go flying every spare minute  ic _now I spend hours with maths (which i love by the way -hence the challenge ) working out power etc from my myriad of meters /wires/batteries/to fit  in my conversions to some of my ic  creations !  No problems with any of them apart from the music created. re :  Merlin etc (sorry I.m supposed to say decibels like the ones created by lawn mowers/hedge cutters/chainsaws etc)  that the average foot ball supporter type/hooligan / knife brandisher non productive Joe public is responsible for & thrives on  & loves cos thy've never actually created anything.

Grumpy

Hi Alex. if your model is weighing almost 3lb, then for reasonable performance, you should aim for at least 100 watts per pound EG: 300 watts. However, as you want it to be EDF then this needs to increase, as fans are not as efficient as props. I suggest you start with a regular prop driven electric model first....and see how you get on - EDF ( successfull EDF at least ) is more complex, and potentially expensive.