Hello from Derek

Hello everyone,

I have just joined the forum. I have been model building and flying for many years.  (I am 72 years old) In the past, I built models mainly from plans and kits.  I have spent most of my life in the RAF so I have travelled around quite a bit and there have been periods when I could'nt do any modelling at all.

I am now living in a small one bedroomed flat so my modelling activily has now been limited to buying ARTF models.   I used to look down on them because I liked building more than flying.   However, I now think ARTF models have done a lot to get more people into our hobby.   Also the current crop of models are excellently produced.

I think I am an excellent builder haveing had a wealth of experience of all types of models but I don't consider myself an excellent flyer, just intermediate.   I am currently a member of the Blackmore Vale Model flying club in Dorset.

Well thats all for now, I don't want to bore you too much.

Advert

Welcome Derek. I am with you on the idea that ARTFs have really brought more people into the hobby, and most will build from a plan one day.

Like you I am an intermediate flier (barely), but I have no experience of building from plans.

Once again welcome, from a fellow serviceman (RAF)

Hi Shaun,

Thanks for the welcome and the email.   I have been looking at your gallery.   It is quite impressive!

I also see that you live in Shropshire.   I was stationed at RAF Cosford for about 3 years and later as a  civilian instructor for 12 years.   Once again, thanks for the welcome.

Derek

Hi and welcome to the forum Derek

Please remember to fill in a little about yourself on the profile page - that way you will be sure to get more response to your questions! Don’t miss the several threads dedicated to Newbies such as yourself, in the beginners section, together with the few guidelines we have listed to help you with using the forum.

Perhaps this in particular may help

And this.