CAP 21 Build

Hi Brian and welcome aboard .
Having read your article, I found it entertaining and interesting, and indeed further proof again that electric to IC "equivalent" is notoriously difficult to achieve for a variety of reasons. Not least - unlike an IC engine, which tend to be suited to just one fairly narrow power band and consequent very limited prop range, an electric motor can be made to behave quite differently using a variety of props and cell counts, even though the constant Kv remains the same. I have no experience of contra rotating props so can offer no commment on the results of your experiments, but the idea is indeed interesting. Others here have also done a fair bit on this concept - not least Roy Thompson, whose video tutorial we recently hosted on the forum.
Another "system" which I have used from time to time is the "double up add zero" method, ( not mine I hasten to add, but borrowed from an active electric flight modeller across the big pond ) and this can work pretty well and maybe fits a little closer with the reslts you found? Take an IC engine of say .35 size. double it to 70 and add 0 results?  =  700.
A ball park figure of 700 watts which is pretty close to your reckoning on the .25 size engine of  600. This "double add zero" system would show of course 500 watts for the .25.
Another big factor in trying to make these simplified comparisons is the vast difference in power outpouts between different engines - a cooking  plain bearing old .40 Merco will behave somewhat differently to a Rossi rear induction of the same capacity!
Anyways, glad you found the whole project interesting and that my article did not give you too much of a bum steer Cheers.... Tim.

Edited By Timbo - Moderator on 14/04/2009 11:03:40

Advert

Hi BRian.

Very interesting article. I always knew that i.c was so much simpler than electrics

A couple of comments. The CAP 21 really needs a .32 for the full aerobatic potential.