BAE Hawk - Red Arrows

Hi,
I'm presently looking towards my next model - a large'ish scale Hawk (possibly Colchester A1 Models / AMD / JHH ?) and am wondering about options other than turbines ! Can anyone recommend an engine / ducted fan set up that I can take a further look at ?
Please be warned I'm a complete novice here so thanks in anticipation of your assistance!
Many thanks,
Rob

Advert

• 1 month later...
Sorry Rob

Was following Lee Morgans good advice on How to publish Photos on the forum the easy way however it all went pear shaped and I could'nt remove it.

Hopefully somebody will from the website

I have a Topgun Park Flite ducted fan BAE hawk Foamie that I thought might of been of Interest to you

When I get chance I will try to download a photo again and a few comments on specs and how it performs

Regards Alan

Hi Rob

Think Ive actually got it now

Picked this up at the local model shop on a whime for £130

Everthing in the box ie Tx charger etc. Esc 25A brushless-2040 in runner brushless motor Ducted Fan 11.1 1800Mah Lipo

Took it to my local club and comments were "will it Fly! Boy it does! sounds like a Dyson on start up!

It was very impressive stable at high and low speeds and after about 10 mins flying a nice slow landing

Taxi back on the steerable nose wheel - how good does it get! Just looking for 8 mates to form the Sqaudron!

Regards Alan

Just a word of caution on this Hawk, when it was being brought in by Sola [and being sold on e-bay]....things were going very wrong.

It turned out that if you stick a Lipo in rated any higher than 12c....the ESC goes into meltdown....and still does on the Topgun version. Also, the motors were not lasting long.

The airframe is superb, and is screaming [pardon the pun] for something better. I would go with the airframe/fan, stick your own motor in it, 40A ESC, and a decent reciever [Jeti MPD] as the layout is just asking for glitching....I know...I was one of those who had one of the Sola ones!