Ripmax ARTF Wot 4

I have just finished building my artf WOT 4 which was very easy - I've been flying (mostly gliders ) for 30 years and am upgrading from a Super Air with an Irvine 53 to a WOT 4 with the same engine.

One last thing is final location of the fuel tank provided.

I feel that for best location the "bung " end of the tank should perhaps be pushed thro' the hole in the engine bulkhead - but it will not quite go through - is it meant to, because if so I will have to enlarge the hole in the wood a bit.

I'm sure it will probably be OK either way, but if the bung end of the tank does not locate in the hole, then there may be a possibility for the pipes to be pulled off the tank tubes.

All advice gratefully received ( the closed loop rudder seems to work OK but is a bit of a fiddle to adjust and I feel that the threaded bar is not really long enough to match it with the servo throws properly.

Advert

HI Alan,

I am not familiar with the ARTF WOT4 - but I have been the proud owner of the old original kit version. In some models it is intended that the bung section of the tank pokes through a hole in the firewall and us usually located there with, say, silicone adhedsive.

But its by no means essential, what is essential is two things and one recommended;

1. that the tank can't move around. If its fixed in then there should be no danger of the fuel pipes coming off the pipes.

2. that the tank centre line is in line with the engine carb

3. I'd suggest that the tank has a bit of padding to gaurd against vibration induced fuel frothing 

Sorry but I don't quite follow your second point about the threaded bar on the closed loop system - can you try to explain it a bit more?

BEB

Best set-up is a true parallelogram with the servo arms and horns having equal (effective) lengths and the horn's holes being on the hinge line.