Delta-a

Martyn K

Hi all,

I have been toying with this for a couple of months now.

The raw facts are:

Span 800mm, AUW about 800g (hopefully)

Section E182 root E184 tip

Solidedge plan here (Free draughting software)

Delta-a/Delta-a.dft

(having problems with this link,please PM me if you would like a copy) 

PDF Plan

http://www.czd.org.uk/aeromodel/Delta-a/Delta-a-plan.pdf

Full size ribs here

http://www.czd.org.uk/aeromodel/Delta-a/Delta-a-Ribs-3.pdf

I am planning to start cutting very shortly, any comments would be very welcome..

Best wishes,

Martyn

Edited By Martyn K on 20/02/2012 22:17:56

Edited By Martyn K on 20/02/2012 22:19:42

Edited By Martyn K on 20/02/2012 22:21:48

Advert

Martyn

A nice conventional build and you get browny points from me for 'constructing' a proper tapered spar rather than just using a carbon fibre tube.

About the only thing I would suggest is to move the prop as far away from the wing trailing edge as possible both to imporve efficiency and reduce noise.

800g sounds a touch heavy to me but then I do build super light.

Hi Simon

Thanks for the comments. I never relly underatnd why peeps don't cut tapered enything, it is not exactly difficult

OK on the weight, I suspect that it may come out lighter when completed, I still haven't actually started it yet as I have been away for a few days and OK on moving the prop back, Should be very easy to do at this time.

Martyn

Hi Olly

Twin rudders operated from a single 9g micro servo with goldenrod linkages. Two 9g servos driving the elevons plus ESC on throttle.

Launching will be via a ramp - it *will* be entertaining which is why there are 2 little underfins half out along the wing. These will act as guides. There is nothing to hang on to although I did consider a discuss launch for at least 5 seconds

Martyn

• 2 weeks later...