Young apprentice

Jamie sawyer

OK. I am not a beginner and have been flying for 30 years but this post is with regards to joung kids in general. I was out in my garden today and tuning an engine on my plane and as usual there is the normal build up of kids walking but looking over my wall and the normal wow coming out of them. Especially the boys in perticular lol.

What should you look for in a kid as a good candidate for teaching. There is 2 boys that keep showing the interest in my planes. One is about 5 and the other I'd say about 10. I know that 30 years ago I did the exact same and went out to see a guy as he loaded his car for the trip to the air field and he just said. Do you want to tag along and that was me. Ran in, asked mum. She knew him and said off you go if you want.

The bug had bitten me bad by that evening lol. Is there a minimum age to concider ?

Obviously the have to show interest which this 2 have.

Both there parents aren't well off and I'm not sure if I should be encouraging a hobby like this on them as it does carry costs...

Really not sure how to aproach this really. The 10 year old today really did show signs of serious interest and if I offered I think he would come without any hesitation.

Any advice is really apreciated

Jamie

Advert

Well it's a source or great regret that I need to say this, but the world has changed a great deal in the last 30 years, and the only kind of 'apprentice'  it would be wise to consider is one who comes with a parent or guardian in tow or who is closely related to you.

Those of us who work with children and young people, need to be very careful to observe 'good practice' when working with children and young people.

One practical solution.... What about approaching your local ATC? A couple of our members assist with a model flying programme run by our local group, and all the child protection policies and checks are ialready in place.

Edited By GrahamC on 29/09/2013 23:00:00