Quadcopters etc

kiwi g

Ive just been messing around with my quad copter . I am no expert on these but do have a degree of success with it .

I am struggling to really see what the real attraction to flying these machines is . A plane its not , a helicopter it certainly isnt .

Are quad copters etc a passing fad or is it more the use of fpv and photography thats the attraction .

Your thoughts .

Kiwi g

Advert

Hello Kiwi g , certainly it is an extraordinary step , or rather a new way of flying ,for me of course...I'm old fashioned

model-flyer.I had to adopt some new knowledge of electronics but thanks to Mr Tim Mackay, I accepted,at first E-drive than quad- technique.....and I discovered the charm of the long winters days...face 1

Cheers

Joe

Traditionally you have to learn to fly an RC heli or model aeroplane and it is a long and sometimes expensive process that requires dedication, the RC Industry is trying to expand the appeal and therefore customer base of RC flying by inventing shortcuts to this process, Multi-Rotors (aside from Commercial/Industrial rig's, which are a totally different kettle of fish) are part of this strategy.........as are stabilization systems, etc.

I think an experienced RC pilot would stuggle to get much out of a multi-rotor on it's own, it's the aerial photography and FPV aspect that we find appealing, although there are different configurations (like tri's for instance) that can expand the appeal from a flying point of view.

Edited By scott cuppello on 21/10/2013 12:04:57

Edited By scott cuppello on 21/10/2013 12:08:03

Hi Scott! Great to see you back!!!

There is a quad/multi to suit most folks, from uber stable camera platforms to mega fast and aerobatic.types.

To see aeros (flips, rolls and loops etc) flown well without the use of a 'cheat' button on the Tx is a joy. There are lots of vids of such flying on YT, Christopher Telford is one such chap, check out his channel here

Hi Kiwi,