hanger 9 mustang a trainer?

I know Im still new to this but did I read right? The Hanger 9 Mustang can be used as a trainer? That is what I read from the article by Andy Ellison in this month's mag. He does mention some flying aids - what are they and do they come with the kit? Oh and whazt does the PTS stand for on the mustang?

Advert

Antony

PTS is a Hangar 9 phrase. Progressive trainer system. Grab the March issue where we reviewed the PTS Mustang. It has cip-on leading edge droops and u/c fairings and fixed flaps which all make the Mustang slow and stable on which to learn. It got a good review.
The aid's can be progressively removed as you progress.
They've just released an F-22 Raptor along the same lines.

Yes - Ive taken a look at Hanger's website now and they look pretty good. I wonder if I can persuade the wife to let me get one? I doubt it though considering what Ive spent in the last few days getting all those last items together that I never had at Christmas - like the 12 volt batter and charger - fuel etc. Still I might if I let her buy a few plants over the next few weeks :)

Have never flown a plane before and chose that model to give my instructor something different!not to mention the fact that this is a nice looking plane,and hanger 9 are well respected in our club for build quality.Will be interesting to see how it stands the rigours of training,and what comments my instructor has.build has almost been completed(well put together)hope to be airborn this weekend!will put my novice reveiw in shortly.

HI ANTONY

I HAVE BOUGHT AND FLOWN THE MUSTANG PTS AND IT IS A GREAT BUY, WELL WORTH THE MONEY. I WOULD AGREE WITH THE REVIEW ABOUT THE AIRCRAFT AND I FOUND THE SLOW FLYING ASPECT A BIT WEIRD BUT THE SYSTEM DOES WORK AND REMOVING THE PTS BITS AND PIECES REALLY DOES TRANSFORM THE MODEL INTO A WELL BEHAVED WARBIRD. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

• 1 month later...