Anyone Arduino...?

Hi Guys..

Has / does anyone use the Arduino..? For anything, not just RC..

I've been dabbling with PIC processors for a few years now, with limited success. The only programmer board I found was the Maplin one, but its a serial interface. So, it's running thru a PCMCIA serial adapter, on my ancient laptop (P4 1.8g), which I believe is the issue.. It only burns properly about 1 in 10 times and doesn't correctly identify the chip.. I'm fed up messing about with IRQs, baud rates, etc, so wandered if the Arduino would suit my needs..?

My needs are simple.. Flash LED's, PWM'ed, multiplexed if required, and servo read n write.. I appreciate the Arduino is capable of far more, but i'm fed up with the PIC programmer..

Any experience.. ?

Luv Chrisie.. xx

Hi Chrisie
I've spent a lifetime doing (& teaching) assembler programming on microprocessors such as pics, 8051, 80x86, right back to the z80, 6800, sc/mp and so on... but only recently tried an Arduino for the first time. I was utterly gobsmacked - its so easy its almost cheating! everything complicated has been done for you, leaving you to tie a few routines together with a simple script - if you've done some pic stuff you will find these unbelievably easy to get along with. The format is based on c++ but pretty much mirrors any modern hll - its very readable. It has tremendous support, it seems everyone uses them, and they're also really cheap. I'm not a convert as a lot of my stuff is synchronous cycle-counting code where the pic excels. But the Arduino is a quick, cheap and very easy way to get a project off the ground!
Cheers
Phil

PS for your pic stuff I'd recommend the pickit 2, about £40 for a real one but you can buy clones for about £25. Its USB so no messy serial comms to configure.  Dont bother with any of the IDE, debugger, ICE etc its not necessary, just the pickit 2 programmer and mpasm is all you need. To create/edit source I use good old windoze notepad.