Another Nijhuis 72" Spitfire

Hi Everyone,

It has been a while since Danny and Herri did their Spitfire builds (thanks very much to both of them for providing such a fantastic amount of detail on their build threads by the way - I have a feeling I will be making a lot of use of those!) and since I have just started to build one myself I figured I would start a new thread.

I'm going to start out by saying that I am very new to building, so I fully expect there will be plenty of stupid question, and probably some mistakes, so thanks in advance to anyone that decides to help out as I move forwards!

I haven't made any decisions on engine yet, however I do know that I want it to be petrol powered. If anyone has some thoughts on good engines on this basis then feel free to let me know!

I started to cut out the wing ribs and realised when I got part way through that the two sheets of wing ribs were made from different wood, the second being much harder than the first. A quick email to Tony had a replacement set on the way to me from Slec, however I made a start on the Fuselage whilst I was waiting.

It also let me put off a decision on which retracts to go for! Speaking of which - other than the obvious difference that the air retracts seem to be about twice the price of the mechanical retracts, what are the differences in actual use? Is there a good reason to pay the premium for the air retracts, or will the mechanical ones suffice?

I've included a few photos of the fuselage side so far. I think I am on the right track, although I have found that I had to cut in to the 25mm triangular section in order to get it to follow the bottom line of the fuselage at the start. Did anyone else have this problem?

Thanks

Dan

I've been giving some more thought to the engine and I am considering an OS GT33. Has anyone got any thought on this engine, or it's appropriateness for this model?