Is it just me?

Mart49

I've been flying planes and gliders for a few years, and now would judge myself as an "intermediate" flyer. I don't crash too often - except when showing off (inverted through the goal post comes to mind!)

I got a quad a year ago (small thing) with which i learnt to fly around the garden, then built a 450 size with a KK2 board. Being roundish, I kept loosing orientation, so a few weeks ago I built a HobbyKing H4 (470 size). Well it flies well in the garden so took it over the field yesterday. I have come to the conclusion that my brain has a blockage when an aircraft travels unnaturally sideways and towards me! I cant work out what sticks to push to correct it. I've tried and tried... Just can't do it...

I think I'm sticking to wings - much easier!

At least on the bright side I've 4x motors and esc's to find planes to put them into!!

Advert

OK, here is the trick. If its coming towards you and goes sideways, and you want to correct, just "follow the quad with the right hand stick" in other words if its going left - push left! This is the mult-rotor equivalent of what you were probably taught on fixed wing, to "prop up the low wing with the stick" - same idea.

I've instructed 3 or 4 people now on multi-rotors and this does seem to work for them. Other things that can help:

1. Spend some time with MR hovering right in front of you, nose-in, and simply practice moving left and right.

2. Simulators are good at assisting with this sort of problem.

Stay with it - you will crack it and eventually it becomes second nature - you don't even think about it. But the key really is practice - the more you fly the quicker you'll feel comfortable.

BEB

• 3 months later...

Dear Mart49,

I totally agree. Brain is mystery. I'm in the exact same situation : I do not have to think to control direction anymore when plane or glider is coming toward me and therefore thought mastering my recently Husban X4 school quad would be a matter of days....