Parkflyer33

Fredrum

Having just finished an extended, although sporadic, build on Jemima, I decided that I wanted to build something as fast and as simple as possible with which I could just nip down to the local park to get a bit flying in when I felt like it rather than having to wait for the weekend to get to the club field, not to mention having to wait for a flying spot. Being a beginner, I would also have to wait for an instructor to become available to take me up with the buddy box, which eats into his time as well.

I will be still going down that route once I get around to getting a new receiver for Jemima, but in the meantime, I would like to get a bit of practice in. I have been flying my Vapor at the indoor meetings lately and I think I’ve gained enough confidence to enable me to lurch for the sky by myself, and if the worst happens, I won’t have invested a huge amount of time or money in my incipient bin bag full of sticks.

I was curious to see just how fast I could build a working model from scratch, so here goes.

I started early afternoon with a few blank sheets of paper and drew up the wing, tail feathers and fuselage. Starting with the wing, some spars were stripped up and a pair of rib templates made up in ply. A set of over-sized rib blanks were cut out including holes for the threaded rods. Bolted all the blanks between the templates and planed & sanded them to shape. This went extremely quickly. The only slightly time consuming part was adjusting the spar cutouts for a snug fit.

parkflyer33 001.jpg