Bills Kits Mirage 2000

My next build is to be a Bills kit Mirage 2000, originally designed for a 46 to 60 size nitro pusher. I would like to electrify it but am struggling to find a suitable brushless motor, could I ask if anyone could suggest a suitable motor. I'm hoping to get the flying weight to be sub 8 Lbs and am limited to a prop diameter of max 10". I have a liPo choice of 4,6 or 8S. Any help would be appreciated.

Steve B

Advert

Posted by Shaun Walsh on 26/02/2019 16:47:01:

I'm no expert but how about something like this?

**LINK**

Running on a 6s should give you around 13k rpm and 150 watts/Lb if my calcs are correct.

Agree that 10" a bit small for a model that large but if it worked with a 60 nitro it might be worth a go.

Edited By Shaun Walsh on 26/02/2019 16:52:56

That's my problem Shaun

No Way would a .60 glow motor survive a 10" prop, and such a waste

Even a .46 with a 10" would get you banned from flying

Posted by Denis Watkins on 26/02/2019 17:59:15:
Posted by Shaun Walsh on 26/02/2019 16:47:01:

I'm no expert but how about something like this?

**LINK**

Running on a 6s should give you around 13k rpm and 150 watts/Lb if my calcs are correct.

Agree that 10" a bit small for a model that large but if it worked with a 60 nitro it might be worth a go.

Edited By Shaun Walsh on 26/02/2019 16:52:56

That's my problem Shaun

No Way would a .60 glow motor survive a 10" prop, and such a waste

Even a .46 with a 10" would get you banned from flying

3 or 4 blade 10" prop?

Posted by Denis Watkins on 26/02/2019 18:11:42:

It is a pusher Shaun, which can be difficult to source, and drops some power

Your motor suggestion would do it BTW

It is not impossible, it is just stacking up problems, and with a delta too.

Let's see where Steve gets to.

Edited By Denis Watkins on 26/02/2019 18:13:47

Use a tractor prop reverse the motor rotation and use threadlock on the prop nut?

Hi Guys

Many thanks for your responses, much appreciated.