Setting up a Hangar 9 Pulse 40 for Electric

Simon B

I want something larger, as i find i get disorientated more easily at height, yet want the height to keep me further away from crashing possibilities, hence thinking about the Pulse...If anyone has any better suggestions then i'm open to ideas.  Definitely looking at .40 sized, but with the ability to convert to electric.

Posted by Simon B on 30/12/2009 14:28:33:
I want something larger, as i find i get disorientated more easily at height, yet want the height to keep me further away from crashing possibilities, hence thinking about the Pulse...If anyone has any better suggestions then i'm open to ideas.  Definitely looking at .40 sized, but with the ability to convert to electric.
 you don't need to be scared of the ground. as a 3D pilot, i don't fear the ground - it is a canvas for artistry .

I'd say spend more time flying the mini pulse. There's no need to move on from it yet as you clearly haven't mastered it unless, of course, you're really uncomfortable about flying it.

The power 46 is 800W so any motor that produces 800W would be fine. Probably a bit less you be fine as Eflite have a tendency to overpower their bigger electric models hence my inital 600-700W thoughts.

I have a real thing about foam.  Everytime i've bought a foam model i've invariably got fed up of the inability to repair them more than a few times before they're unusable.  I've had:

Hobbyzone Super Cub (Ok for a beginner, but way too expensive for what it is - Beginners would be better off with something else in many respects)
E-Flite P-40 Warhawk (tricky to fly, but was really fun - Would have another.   Decent foam)
GWS Formosa (Great flier, but lasted hardly any time - now have a Nigel Hawes Whizza, which has all the flying characteristics, but doesn't fall apart!)
GWS E-Starter (horrible, just horrible.  Nasty flying characteristics)