72" Vulcan build

andy watson

I am getting into the closing stages of my stuka build, and giving thought to my next project.  I am drawn to the idea of a Vulcan bomber.  I am thinking about the one from South Herts models here.  This is designed for a 60 size pusher, but if anyone has read any of my blogs you will know an IC engine hanging off the back will annoy me.  Since a turbine or 2 is well out of my price range, I am wondering if it could be converted for EDF.  I will speak with the company to check for the practicalities of actually fitting them, but since I have never done anything electrical before (it's all been IC) I have no idea what kind of set up I will need, and hence no idea of potential costs.

If anyone could recommend a set up that would be capable of taking off in a Vulcan like manner, then I would really appreciate it.

Cheers

Advert

Wow Andy that would be a forumites dream thread please go for it.I think it would have to be electric,Someone at the club just bought hawk or something and it sounds awesome.these ducted fan thingies have come a long way.When you start the thread(please,I would be tempted to build one along with you.Mine of course would be a couple of posts behind so you could work it out for me.Hope it happens,Now we need Timbo to tells us the electric set up and cost.Good luck with your potential new project,your audience and public await you

Model would certainly be suited for EDF if you can duct the air suitably around the wing joiners, theres plenty of room (depth of section) for the powertrain and the model can be built nice and light - I think ducting will be the biggest challenge!  PSSA member Matt Jones has built one from this plan for PSS and it flies superbly!!  He might be able to offer some advice on the build and weight reduction.

Certainly its a really good looking model when finished - the plans are taken from the original A V Roe wind tunnel drawings so the shape is spot on and it performs really well.