Transmitters for beginners

Owen O Reilly

I am just getting into the hobby after years of watching and going to shows. I have just purchased a Raptor 50 with Futabe servos and gyro and was wondering which transmitter would be good for starting out. I have been looking at the Futaba 6EX and Spectrum but I have read there are some issues with some spectrum models.

Advert

The question is where do you want to go in the future. Both Spectrum and Futaba have there share of problems. I started with a Dx6I when I got my first Raptor and it is a great TX. I did however want the Dx7 at the time and looking back I should have gone down that route. The six channel is fine but its when you need the seventh channel for say flybarless/Gov..

Ok at the moment this is a long way off for you as a beginner but its worth thinking about as it will save money later on.

I use a Dx7 with the AR7000 rx. This gives me seven channels to play with. I have now moved on to aircraft with flaps and retracts. To be honest there are times i wish I had eight channels.

You'll have no problems with either Futaba or Spectrum - both are excellent kit and it purely comes down to personal preferance.

Whether to go for a 6 channel or something bigger - well that's a big call. The 6 will certainly do for now - and probably for at least a year. But you will outgrow it and eventually you will want a bigger system. I wouldn't personally go 7 channels if I was going bigger I'd go 8 - that will all the growing room you'll need until you eventually need a new tranny anyway.

So, as I see it the choices are:

a. keep the price down now and buy either a Futaba or Specktrum 6 channel - but you might well grow out of it before it wears out and face buying a replacement in 12-18 months. But you'll still have a spare tranny - which can be handy!

b. Spend a fair bit more now but "future proof" yourself with again either a Futaba or a Spectrum, 8 channel Tx that will last you years.

The choice is yours!

BEB