RCM&E beginner's series

Graham Ashby 123

I’m about to start writing a new series on learning to fly helicopters (including tips, techniques etc.,) and wondered if anyone had any views on what they think should be included. My introduction to helis was only a few years ago so the whole process is still very fresh in my mind, however, instead of covering just the obvious elements, lessons and pitfalls, it would be great if I could broaden the spectrum a bit and make the piece more comprehensive. So guys, if there was any one thing you found particularly difficult to crack when learning to fly helicopters, a gem of information that someone passed on, or a simple gadget that got you going quicker, I’d be delighted to hear about it with a view to passing the information on via the magazine. It can only make for a series that’ll be more beneficial overall.

Hi Graham.
I set up and started flying a raptor 30 about 14 months ago.I have been flying fixed wing for many years and this may have helped me. I found this web site http://www.raptortechnique.com/ and this helped me set up and fly raptors on my own.
A very good site if like me at the time, you fly as a country member and cannot obtain help at a club.
If you have not already, have a look and see what you think.
Kind Regards Trevor

Hi Graham
I was very impressed by your original articles, especially on the Piccolo. (I hope I am right in ascribing these to you!)
I wondeer whether you could let me have the dates of the original series please? I have been trying to locate them in my collection of RCME, having subscribed for many years, to no avail. Perhaps tidying up the boxws would help!
I look forward to another starting up series on this subject by yourself, having recently been given a Piccolo type chopper!