Diesel Trainer to Electric Conversion Help Needed

Dominic

I'm still fairly new to the hobby and have a Bixler 2 which I'm learning to fly with. I've just picked up a cheap (ie less concerned if I crash blush) diesel high wing trainer off ebay as my next step but want to convert it to electric. The prop that it came with is 10x6" & wingspan is 48". My calculations to convert to electric are...

Weight with battery, servos, rx = 1150g

Plus 100g (estimate) motor = AUW = 1250g = 2.76lb

Power needed = 100w/lb = 2.76 x 100 = 276W (lets say 300W)

I've got a 3s 2200mAh battery from the Bixler that I think is about right, so

ESC = 300/11.1 = 27A = 30A ESC (= 40A for safety)

After some research I think I need about 1000Kv

So I think this motor is going to be about right **LINK**

Am I in the right area? Thanks

Advert

I ran your numbers and motor choice through Ecalc

I assumed a rather mean wind area of 400 Square inches

on a 10x6 Prop it gives

102W/Lb Stall Speed 20mph, Max Speed 43mph (subject to my assumed wing area) with a max current of 25A

on a 10x5 Prop it gives

92W/lb Stall Speed 20mph, Max Speed 39mph (subject to my assumed wing area) with a max current of 22A

Dropping the prop to 9" gives far too low a wattage

Increasing it to 11" would give you too much power and be to much current for the motor

So I reckon you are pretty close...

Unfortunately there are no markings on the engine at all - no make, size, nothing.... However, here is a pic of the plane if that helps?

I'm looking for a setup that is going to be fairly slow - not sure if that needs a change in prop? Dave, I did take a look at Ecalc but very little of it made sense frown.

Any advice/pointers gratefully received.

imag0074.jpg

imag0075.jpg

My vintage Veron Robot is fairly similar in size, weight & power requirements. The model is 45" span, 416sq ins, RTF weight is 52 oz.