i12fly a Ballerina

i12fly

I'm not planning a proper blog as I'm a slow builder but would like to post a few things that I hope will be interesting to other people.

As a habitual meddler with plans, I like to modify bits to suit my build style.

First of all I'm using closed loop rudder so having spent some time working out how best to avoid the wires clashing with the elevator snake I thought the dimensions might be useful to others doing similar.

Fair size 'holes' were made in the formers doing a TLAR approach with the side view on the plan

Then I worked out a suitable position for the horns from the fus centreline / bottom of the rudder to avoid interference

a planning closed loop 0.jpg

Next the exit position of the loop wires was planned using a couple of lengths of piano wire, and the slots made with a dremel. Putting the piano wire through these and into position meant the snake route could be planned

a planning closed loop 1.jpg

Note there is a bracket on one of the middle formers to ensure the loop wire will not touch the snake

a planning closed loop 2.jpg

So the dimension for the exit holes come out at:

a planning closed loop 3.jpg

a planning closed loop 4.jpg

Hopefully the rule can be read.........

Interesting point there Simon, I always thought they should avoid crossing so there is no wear or metal to metal (although with 2.4GHz I guess there is no risk of interference). Crossing does make it more compact.

What is the general feeling - parallel or crossed?

Second mod for me is a steerable tail skid. A similar one works well on my Puppeteer. I like to isolate it from the rudder servo to reduce stress on the servo so connect it with a rubber band. OK not pretty but is practical and you don't notice in the air.

a steerable skid 1.jpg

Its made using a tail wheel bracket with 16gauge wire, an 18 gauge 'arm' is soldered onto this that projects directly backwards. The idea is to set the bracket into the fus to hide most of it