Building from scratch

Phil 9

RCM&E Have some great free plans. I have never built a flying model before but I do have some experiance in other types of modeling.

it would be usefull if the plans came with a shopping list of materials needed.

Do bought plans come with such info or will i need to work it out for myself?

Advert

its ok i bought cheep arf kits off ebay they would have not been good flyers in an experts hands. but i did learn from them. I have an easy star ready to go and i know that it will be a good flyer.

as for building i dont have a good model shop local so most materials i need to order online. thats why it would be very usefull to have a list of what i need in advance so i can order in one go saving postal costs and avoiding long waits for an essential missing part. and being a novice it will be hard to estimate what i need. ie the tricksof the trade such as your example that you only learn through experiance.

But i guess the easy answer i was looking for does not exist uless i but a traditional build kit. but i did want to do the work myself

Hi Phil, As Phil Wood has said, you will have to work out the material requirements for yourself. If you take your time over it you soon discover that it really isn't all that difficult ! Building from scratch is the most rewarding way of involvment with model aircraft but you will have to set yourself up with some equiptment. May I suggest the following.

1. A decent size building board.

2. A SLEC balsa stripping tool

3. A balsa plane.

4. A couple of Swan Morton scalpel blade holders & some blades

When we come to the question of suppliers it is really a matter of your location ( you haven't told us in your profile )

Welcome to the " balsa bashers "

REMEMBER if you have a problem with building there will always be someone on this forum to help you..

Regards Allan J

Thanks for the tips. But i do have a question I hope i dont sound to stupid but.....