Trainer setting on FF7

Richard Putnam

Hi,
I have recently bought a FF7 35 MHz  second hand (T7CP)
I am a club instructor so using the trainer mode is a necessity.
I am buddying a Futaba T6EXA with the FF7.
I have set only one channel on the FF7 to Trainer mode , yet I cannot
switch to the buddy TX. ( the trainer settings are set to "F").

Whilst on the subject of FF7 I cannot make the Throttle cut either!

Any help would be much appreciated.

kairos.

Advert

I have both 2.4 and 35MHz versions of the FF7. 

I've never tried the trainer functionality on either - however I do recall somebody (maybe on another forum?) mentioning buddy box problems with a Futaba radio that turned out to be a fault on the transmitter.  I'll post more if I can find the details!

As for the throttle cut,  it works fine on both my FF7s - setup on switch H.

• 1 month later...
 I too am having trouble with my T7C buddy switch, my son and i went to the field the other day and found someone to buddy him but for some reason my tx will no longer act as master, the only way that we could get the buddy to work was to re-bind my trainer to the donor tx. It is all rather strange as both me and my lad have used my tx as master on many occasions before and i have not changed any of the settings.
 When I spoke to Ripmax  they seem to think it is the lead but then surely when we swapped it around (spare tx as master) it still should not of worked.
 Anyone with suggestion I would greatly appreciate it as obviously the lad wants to fly.

Hi Barry,

I am sure by the sound of your mail that you are conversant with the FF7 but just a few checks.

• FF7 will only work as a trainer with other modern Futaba Transmitters.
  • Make sure the trainer facility is turned on. It will read "on" or "off" don’t forget INH is switch inhibited (not in use). On & off confused me for ages it is just the switch position. Both positions are active.