Electric setup problem

Simon UK

Hi Guys 

This is my first post, and any help would be greatly appreciated.

I am relatively new to the hobby and have just completed my first electric refit. I bought an Artech Wing Dragon (4 channel) a few months ago and quite quickly have become bored with its low power. After a fair amount of research I ordered a Brushless outrunner, an ESC, and a Lipo. 

Today I just finished soldering all the required connections; I used Deans (clones) on the battery and ESC ends and 3.5mm Bullet connectors for the motor to ESC.

I installed the motor on a hardwood mount that I made and connected everything up. Firstly I ran the set-up with the 8 cell Ni-MH 1000mah that came with the Wing Dragon. Everything seemed to perform flawlessly. Then I tried connecting the Lipo, this is where the problems kicked in. up to about 50% Throttle the motor behaves normally, from 50% onwards it gets very erratic. It gains RPM then Loses RPM and this fluctuates on and off. I have no idea what the problem could be so any help would be as I have said above Greatly Appreciated.

Motor is a Tower Pro 2408-21T-3A
ESC is a Hobby King Hk-30A ESC
Battery is a Rhino 1350mah 25C 3 cell

I have noticed that the propeller is quite loose on the shaft, is there any sort of adapter I can get to make it tighten?

Many thanks

Simon

Edited By Simuk on 11/11/2009 16:02:42

Edited By Simuk on 11/11/2009 16:03:20

Hi Simuk and welcome to the forum.

Difficult to know exactly what caused this problem, but it is possible the motor or ESC were overworked by the significantly higher voltage of the LiPo compared to the NiMh, which would mean pulling more watts unless you propped down (smaller diameter or finer pitch propeller).